just a quick look at my setup. A. selene, A. suraka and M. peleides (feel free to skip to the pictures!)

• Hi everybody,

I am just a beginner at keeping butterflies and moths, and I would love to hear your thoughts on my setup. First I'll tell a little bit about how I started off, and the problems I have encountered in this short time allready. My experience so far is that it is easy to find facts like what the preferred foodplants of a species are, what colors every instar of a species has or how big the caterpillars get, but it is better to actually read about someones daily routine etc. so that's what I'm trying to do here. I hope to learn from any comments and tips that you guys are willing to give me, and that way maybe someone else can learn from this topic also, later on.

a rough start
    So the first species I started with was Samia cynthia/ ricini. I'm not realy sure about the exact species and origin, because they were given to me as a gift. What I got was 20+ L1 caterpillars, who unfortunately all died within a period of three weeks time. Even though originally I wasn't planning on raising butterflies, I had really started to like taking care of the little caterpillars, and I was very disappointed at them all dying. So after a week I decided that I was going to give it another try.

second try
    In the mean time I had allready started reading all I could about raising butterflies and found out that - even though this was probably not the reason for my caterpillars dying - Samia suffer from inbreeding depression. So when I had decided to give this hobby another try I started looking around for other suitable species to start with. I read that Actias selene was relatively easy to rear, and because I found both the caterpillars and the moths really attractive, I bought 25 eggs and waited for them to hatch.

maybe not so easy after all