Caring for cabbage white

• Hi all,

I have recently adopted the hobby of raising butterflies, after growing attached to some caterpillars that were munching on my cabbage plants. I released the first 10 or so butterflies (pieris rapae). However, after learning that they can be kept as pets, I wanted to give it a shot. Unfortunately, two of the three butterflies I kept died within a few days! Do any of you have tips for me? I am a complete beginner, so every tip (or link to an article) is welcome!

Some details on the care I'm given them: I'm housing the butterflies in a spare 3x3m room with two windows, one of which is open for ventilation (and covered by mesh). I closed the curtains in front of the other window to prevent the butterflies from flying against the glass. There is sun in the morning but also plenty of nooks to hide. The temperature is about 15-25 degrees Celsius depending on the time of day. I have no measurements on the humidity. There are some cabbage plants in the room in case they need to lay eggs. I feed them a store-bought buttery nectar mix, placed in a small yellow container to (hopefully) make it more attractive. The butterflies drink from it when I put some on my finger or when I guide them to it, but they don't seem to drink from it without my help. I had three butterflies in the room, all of which ate yesterday evening. Two of them had died when I came home today. They were near the mesh window, maybe they wasted their energy trying to get out? The one butterfly that is still alive has a folded wing and cannot fly well, so it would make sense that that one is still alive.

My questions are:

• Why did two of my butterflies die, and what can I do to prevent it?
    • Are there other things I need to change about the habitat?
    • Can the butterflies find the nectar themselves? If not, what do I need to change?

Thanks a lot to anyone leaving any tips!
    Karin

• ANZEIGE
    • Offizieller Beitrag